New Contest: NATAS Student Production Award!

I’m really excited to announce that the NATAS Student Production awards are being offered to high school students for the first time ever! I can’t wait to take the best projects being produced this year and submit them! The deadline is the end of March, so any video or animation project created this mini is eligible. Here’s the details from the official call for entries:

From the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Southeast – two exciting opportunities for High School Students:

The Southeast Student Production Award encourages the pursuit of excellence in video production and focuses public attention on outstanding achievements produced by high school students All entries must have been originally produced within the Southeast Region (Alabama (excluding Huntsville), Georgia, Mississippi, South Carolina and Asheville, NC. Categories include: : Newscast, Arts & Entertainment, Music Video, Long Form Fiction/Non-Fiction, Sports, Public Service, Commercial, Animation/Graphics, Audio/Sound, Director, Editor, Photographer, Talent and Writing

Production Eligibility Period: March 15, 2012 – March 15, 2013
Entry Deadline: Friday, March 29, 2013

The entry process is online, including uploading entries and online judging. Attached, please see the Official Call for Entry for rules, submission requirements and category details. Link to submit:

Think you are ready to submit? here is a quick checklist before going online:

  • Name of Entry
  • Submitting Organization
  • Submitter
  • Entrants
  • Date Entry aired (format 01-01-2011)
  • Length of Entry
  • Station/URL of where entry aired
  • Description/Precis (not required but suggested)
  • Entry Video (formats accepted flv, vp6, mp4, mov)
  • Credit Card for Payment


The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences is pleased to announce the availability of two $10,000 scholarships for outstanding high school seniors from across the United States who intend to pursue communications-related baccalaureate degrees in pursuit of a career in any aspect of the television industry.

The awards honor legendary broadcasters Jim McKay and Mike Wallace. The Jim McKay Memorial Scholarship, now in its fourth year, honors sportscaster Jim McKay (1921-2008). This is the inaugural year of the Mike Wallace Memorial Scholarship, honoring longtime CBS newsman Mike Wallace (1918-2012).

Each of this year’s scholarships will be awarded to a college-bound applicant who demonstrates exceptional talent as a creator of video programming as well as outstanding academic achievement and potential for success in a highly competitive profession. The two scholarship recipients will be determined in April.

Applications may be submitted online or by mail.

The deadline for applications is 5 pm EST on March 1, 2013, for online applications; and a postmark of no later than February 15, 2013, for applications submitted by mail. For scholarship applications and information please visit

For more information contact Myrna Moore, NATAS Southeast Chapter Student Coordinator, at


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s